Various - Lost Train Blues: John & Alan Lomax & The Early Music Collections At The Library Of Congress (Vinyl LP)


£9.99 was £17.99

This product is currently sold out.

Label: Jalopy

Cat No: JALOPY003

Lost Train Blues features 22 selections from the vast holdings of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, 13 of them have never been issued before. The record includes work songs, ballads, blues, political and union songs, guitar, banjo and fiddle music and Native American vocal music. These recordings were made between 1933 and 1950 and represent the birth of the folk music collections at the Library of Congress, now the largest repository of folk and enthographic holdings in the world. The record demonstrates the groundbreaking work of Alan Lomax and his father John Lomax, but also places them with the context of other important early field workers.

The deluxe record includes liner notes by Alan Lomax archive curator Nathan Salsburg, as well as a 14 page booklet with photographs and original research about each song, artist and folklorist. The cover features an original lithograph by artist Jeff Tocci. Each selection has been retransferred from original discs and tapes at the Library of Congress and has been carefully remastered by sound engineer Don Fierro making for the best possible audio fidelity.


A1. Clyde Kingfish Smith - "WPA Song" (0:39)
A2. Jesse Wadley - "Longest Train I Ever Saw" (with John Wadley, Will Jones & Felix Davenport) (3:33)
A3. Dawson Henson - "The Moonshiner" (0:32)
A4. Wilson Stavin Chain Jones - "Stavin' Chain" (2:48)
A5. Jesse Morris - "Unfortunate Dog Or Stony Point" (1:15)
A6. Carl Lathrop - "Leather Breeches" (1:11)
A7. Fred Perry & Glenn Carver - "Lost Train Blues" (1:28)
A8. James Blind Jim Howard - "The Hard-Working Miner (Only A Miner)" (2:06)
A9. Jesse Wadley - "St James Infirmary" (2:04)
A10. Ruby & Oliver Hughes - "Lamp Lighting Time In The Valley" (2:08)
A11. Helen Luella & Juanita Hallmark - "Cherokee Christian Hymn" (1:12)
A12. Boys Chorus Of The Santa Fe Indian School - "My One-Eyed Ford" (1:09)

B1. Camp Morris & Group - "Captain Haney Blues" (2:30)
B2. James Sneed, JF Duffey & Alvin Sanders - "Southern Rag" (2:00)
B3. Elmo & Bill Newcomer - "Turkey In The Straw" (2:51)
B4. Elmo Newcomer - "Rye Whiskey" (3:31)
B5. Hattie Ellis & Jack Ramsey - "Desert Blues" (2:20)
B6. Rowena Knight, Mary Anne Knight, Thelma Hawthorne & Jerusha Hawthorne - "Hard Times" (1:22)
B7. Tillman Cadle - "I Don't Want Your Millions Mister" (2:12)
B8. JW Russell - "Battle In The Horseshoe" (1:59)
B9. Hammer Clarence Banks, Bob Bentley, Charlie Blake, Harold Vosburg - "Travelin' To That New Buryin' Ground" (1:15)
B10. Buster Buzz Ezell - "Roosevelt & Hitler" (3:37)

Similar Products