Various - Groove Of ESSR II: Funk, Soul, Disco & Jazz From Estonia 1973-1984 (Vinyl LP)

Funk Embassy Records


This product is currently sold out.

Various - Groove Of ESSR II: Funk, Soul, Disco & Jazz From Estonia 1973-1984 (LP, Comp) 


Escaping the Soviet through music is a running theme for the "Groove of ESSR" compilation. Funk Embassy returns with the second volume that includes 11 tracks from 1973-1984. Some hide meaning between lines, others offer solace on the dancefloor. It's an ongoing journey to uncover these jewels and meet their makers. Majority of the tunes will be released for the first time. The 12-inch comes with a 30-page booklet that provides background stories and quotes from the artists.

The "Groove of ESSR" project has garnered attention around the globe. From the first volume released in 2019, tracks were picked up by Gilles Peterson, Mehmet Aslan, Zag Erlat and DJ Tahira to name a few. During the production of this album, two of the most influential figures in Estonian funk and soul passed on: Marju "Maryn" Kuut (1946-2022) and Tõnu Aare (1953-2021). We dedicate this album to them.

A1. Eesti TV ja Raadio Estraadiorkester - Meie aeg (instrumental)
A2. Marju Kuut, Apelsin - Maskeraad
A3. Laine (2) - Nüüd on mul muusika
A4. Raivo Parind, Ansambel Eufoonia - Hei, päike!
A5. Jaan Kumani Instrumentaalansambel - Mind veel ei ole (instrumental)
A6. Collage (8), Apelsin - Memme vaev
B1. Magnetic Band - Liiklus
B2. Ülle Ernits, Admiral (7) - Ma tahan olla siin
B3. Eesti TV ja Raadio Estraadiorkester - Mälestus (short version)
B4. Teravik - Hoia ennast koos
B5. Els Himma - Veerev päev
B6. Pirita (2) - On see hea (instrumental)

Similar Products