Various - Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) (Vinyl 3LP)

Soundway Records


This product is currently sold out.

Various - Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) (Vinyl 3LP) 

Label: Soundway Records

Cat No: SNDWLP132

17 obscure Soca B-side versions, dubs, instrumentals and edits as well as vocal tracks influenced by disco, boogie, house-music, soul and the more conscious lyrics of roots reggae. Owing as much to New York, Toronto and London as to the Caribbean cities of Port of Spain, Bridgetown and Kingstown this compilation traces the genre from its explosion in the late 1970s right up to the period just before contemporary soca became established around the end of the 1990s. 


A1 Cito Jarvis - Fighting Soldier 05:52
A2 Roger Bain - Stand Up & Rock Your Body (Instrumental) 05:30
A3 *D* Ivan - Fire (Extended Dub Edit) 05:37
B1 Bill Campbell - Body Beat 04:23
B2 Brother Resistance - Move It (Version) 05:52
B3 Adonijah - It’s Alright 06:34
D1 Peter Britto - I Want Your Love 05:04
D2 Juno D - Hotter And Hotter (Dub Edit) 06:45
D3 Colin Jackman - D’Jab Jab Dance (Bad Lad Mix) 04:22
E1 Levi John - S-O-C-A 07:34
E2 Spiking - Liberation Train 07:52
F1 Mohjah - Zion Gates (Dub) 04:18
F2 Andre Tanker - Wild Indian Band 06:24
F3 Touch - Touch Music (Edit) 06:15
G1 D Rebel Band - Solid 06:41
G2 The Millers - Last Days 05:58
G3 Chocolate Affaire - Jump To Calypso 04:06

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

Similar Products