Soul Supreme – Soul Supreme (Vinyl LP)

Soul Supreme Records


This product is currently sold out.

Soul Supreme ‎– Soul Supreme (Vinyl LP)

Label: Soul Supreme Records 

Cat No: SSRLP001

״It feels odd to call this self-titled release by Soul Supreme his 'debut album'; the Amsterdam-based keyboardist, DJ & producer has been widely recognized for over six years now. With best known his 45 records reinterpreting music by Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five and Mos Def (sold out within a matter of days), and more recently his ATCQ 45Check The Rhime b/w Lyrics To Go(an instant success with two represses). But here we are, with his first official album with his own compositions and productions. Chasing more supreme sounds on this self-released LP.

The album finds Soul Supreme in a dizzying array of musical twists and turns. From the infectious house vibe on 'Rich in Soul' to broken beats on 'Keep Moving.' And from putting the soul in a synth on 'Mellow Thompson' as if the keys are singing over hip-hop drums, to the G-funk-in-space album closer 'Orbit.' And in good ol' Soul Supreme fashion, two reinterpretations of tracks he loves: French sample classic 'Huit Octobre 1971' by Cortex (sampled by MF DOOM, Madlib, Tyler, the Creator), and an ode to the late last year deceased L.A. jazz-fusion multi-instrumentalist Tony Palkovic ('Born With A Desire').

Let's skip the promotional gibberish of 'Sounds Like…' or 'For Those Who Dig…' This is Soul Supreme's official introduction to Soul Supreme. Hope you're pleased to meet him.״


1 Easy Breezy 1:52
2 Rich in Soul 4:28
3 Snakes 3:04
4 Keep Moving 4:20
5 Mellow Thompson 1:20
6 Huit Octobre 1971 3:58
7 Born with a Desire 5:09
8 Summertime on Mars 2:12
9 Orbit 2:04

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

Similar Products