Orquesta Akokán – 16 Rayos (Vinyl LP)

Daptone Records


This product is currently sold out.

Orquesta Akokán – 16 Rayos (Vinyl LP)

Label: Daptone Records

Cat No: DAP-064

Following their critically acclaimed Daptone debut, Orquesta Akokán is ready to unleash 16 Rayos on the world's dance floors. Recorded in Havanaʼs famed Egrem Studios, the group displays a cohesion forged by an intense performing and touring cycle. The musical conversation that began in the Areito studios three years earlier blossomed into an easy, intimate dialogue between good friends - allowing full, fearless musical expression and risk-taking outside of their comfort zones. Building upon Perez Pradoʼs dissonant, near avant-garde vision of the mambo, and highlighting the Lucumí subtext of Cuban rhythms and styles, the band continues to explore, develop and expand the islandʼs rich rhythmic palette and repertoire - pushing the conventions of what is considered “mambo” - and drawing deeply from folkloric and religious traditions seldom heard in popular music. 16 Rayos is here to shine its musical rays on us, warm our hearts, and irresistibly move our bodies.


A1    Mi Conga Es De Akokán
A2    4 De Octubre
A3    Guajira Del Mar
A4    Interludio No 1
A5    El Inflador
B1    Fiebre De Mambo
B2    Orquídea
B3    Interludio No 2
B4    Llegue Con Mi Rumba
B5    16 Rayos

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

Similar Products